Yes, this is when I start my blog!

Like so many of you, I’ve been dreaming about it for months (even years, to be quite honest), thinking it over a gazillion times, mentally writing and re-writing posts but guess what: it doesn’t work! I’ve got to make it real, and having spent time studying and learning from blogger Sarah Titus I’ve finally reached the point where I’ve realized that the perfect day for starting will never come – I’ve just got to get started! As do you, and I guarantee you that you couldn’t possibly be more freaked out excited at the thought of jumping in than I am. So if you think that your freaked-out-ness might match mine, why don’t you join me on my journey towards BIG TIME BLOGGING SUCCESS?

I plan to divide this into two basic parts: 1) the Lighthouses part, which is up close and personal stuff, and 2) the whole development of a blog from scratch.

LIGHTHOUSES

The whole idea of tending to your lighthouses sprang from an emotional moment with one of my very best friends who was struggling immensely at work. She told me how her husband, who also happens to be a good friend of mine, had tried to calm her by picking a phrase out of thin air: “Honey, don’t let it get to you. If you stick to tending to your lighthouses and focus on what means something in your life, you will succeed in the end”.

I actually think this meant less to Karina than it did to me, although she did appreciate her husband’s point. To me, however, it felt like an epiphany! A guiding lighthouse in and of itself; this thought of putting my time and energy into the things that truly shine through the fog and the darkness that sometimes surround me (and you too, I’m sure), it made sense to me on such a profound level that I just knew I had to work on that some more. Thus, this blog!

BLOG WORK

I am literally doing this from scratch as I have NO money to start a blog “the right way”.

Being a single mom on welfare with over 50K in debt; constantly behind on bills; worrying every month about how to avoid the next eviction notice; having sleepless nights over such seemingly insignificant things as birthday presents or class outings for my daughters etc. etc – some of you probably know these problems all too well – paying for things like hosting and themes is totally out of the question for now. That’s something I will have to save for but I won’t let it prevent me from getting my thoughts out there; from reaching out to those who also need a shining light in their darkness.

So, for today, I’ve started my blog on the free version of WordPress. My first goal hereafter is to subscribe to Bluehost as recommended by Sarah Titus. More on that when I manage to put aside the money (at least $100 = food for a week) for that.

Leave a Reply

